The Sigma Trust - Board Members


Sara Cullis

Sara has a business background, and is a professional with a history of achieving global success in high profile roles spanning; marketing, stakeholder management, change management, project and programme management. During her career, she has worked for a number of household names and across a range of sectors. Sara currently runs her own marketing company which combines providing marketing consultancy and training in both the private and education sectors as well as working part time for a local Colchester Business. Sara is the Vice Chair of Governors at St Helena School (a founding member of NEEEP and The Sigma Trust) and has been involved with the school for over 7 years. She is passionate about working in collaboration to ensure that all children have access to excellent education and be inspired to learn. In her spare time, she likes to walk, play golf and read.

Richard Moodey

Richard Moodey is a Sigma Board Member (Parent representative) and a member of the Clacton County High School Local Governing Body. He’s been a CCHS parent governor since 2008, and more recently Chair of the Finance and Curriculum Committee. He is also Chair of Members for the Premier Learning Trust MAT (includes Holland Park and Alton Park primary schools) and trustee too, having been previously Chair of Governors for Holland Park Primary – a feeder school to CCHS. He’s worked in Financial Services for 30 years: and for the past 15 years at Zurich as a National Account Manager, looking after key strategic partnerships for the insurer. He is passionate about education and business, and strongly feels that business must support education better in shaping the employees and entrepreneurs of the future. He lives in Clacton, married with 2 sons, both of whom attended CCHS and Holland Park.

Brian Palmer

After spending his working life with British Petroleum PLC, and more recently his work in school governance, Brian is well placed to help move the Sigma Trust forward. After over 25 years in Research, then Sales and Business Management worldwide, he took on responsibility for BP’s community relations in 1996, with an annual budget of $100million - mostly committed to education projects in the UK and worldwide. Brian’s experience as Chair of the Essex Careers and Business Partnership, along with his membership of the CBI education panel and the Teacher Training Agency, led him to becoming a Governor of the Stanway School and subsequent Chair of the Stanway Federation Multi Academy Trust. He was also a prominent member of the North East Essex Education Partnership before the formation of the Sigma Trust.

Nick Pavitt

Nick has 12 years’ experience at secondary Headship. Since retiring he has served as the School Improvement Partner working for a number of schools across 5 Local Authorities. Nick was the Chair of the Interim Executive Board for Ramsden Hall Residential SEMH School, Billericay and is currently a governor of White Hall Academy, Clacton-on-Sea (one of the largest primary schools in Essex).

Andrew Smith

Andrew brings with him a wealth of experience in education having taught in Wandsworth, Tower Hamlets and Dorset, along with sixteen years as a Headteacher at numerous schools across Essex. He is currently Headteacher at Lyons Hall Primary School, Braintree and is the Chief Executive Officer for the Learning Pathways Academy Trust; a three school Academy Trust which unites Lyons Hall with Braiswick Primary School, Colchester and Whitehall Academy, Clacton. Alongside the Executive Headship of these two schools, Andrew has been Executive Principal of Tendring Primary School since September 2015. He is also a National Leader of Education, a trainee Ofsted Inspector and is the Lead Headteacher in the Professional Learning Network Teaching Schools Alliance.